WORDS OR PICTURES

youtube-20100805-042515[1]I try to encompass as many subjects on here as possible, or at least ones that motivate me to write something others may also find interesting. However, I have consciously avoided a certain subject that I wrote of extensively in a past online life, partly because I didn’t really think I had anything left to say about it and partly because there are several people out there who devote more time to it and can therefore speak about it with a greater degree of knowledge and insight than me. I also began to weary of it, to be honest.

Nevertheless, the bandwagon has rumbled on without me and the situation seems to get worse rather than better, bleeding into so many areas of contemporary life that it can appear contrary to wilfully avoid it. I see excellent articles tweeted on a daily basis and often read them, coming away from the last paragraph shaking my head and somewhat in despair. What the pen shies away from, though, the video can still dip its toes into.

I was satirising this long before I wrote a word about it and see no reason why I shouldn’t return to it every once in a while via my chosen medium, especially when the dire state of affairs positively demands it. It feels like I’m shirking my duties to keep mum, and I find satire remains the best vehicle for me personally when it comes to this particular topic.

Therefore, having digested further reading material over the past few days, I have produced a couple of videos that best suit my take on the subject. One is a ‘short’ – running at barely a minute and taking the form of opening titles characteristic of the old ‘Quinn Martin Productions’ that used to grace (mainly) ITV screens in my formative years; I based it upon the opening titles for ‘The Streets of San Francisco’ and also borrowed its memorably funky theme tune. For those who don’t remember, it starred Karl Malden and his amazing nose as well as giving an early break to Michael Douglas, when he still slept with women his own age. I imagined how Quinn Martin would introduce the viewer to a series covering a contemporary police agenda in the shape of Operation Midland. Now you can see precisely how I visualised it.

The second video is a little longer, lasting just under ten minutes, and reflects my love of British police series of the 60s and 70s; as with ‘Coronation Street’ from the same era, my love manifests itself in the form of parody. I wondered how Sgt Dixon would cope with modern policing and the stark contrast with the world of law and order he knew; the major change that has altered the job over the past few years is the focus of the mini-episode, and I’d rather do it this way than churn out a collection of paragraphs repeating what I’ve said before or reading as a pale shadow of those more capable and qualified than I.

So, if satire appeals, feel free to view. I might not want to write about it, but I don’t mind parodying what sometimes seems perilously close to parody without my input.

PS: Probably best to watch these sooner rather than later. BBC Worldwide and ITV plc are becoming increasingly averse to their archive material being used for satirical purposes, and it’s only a matter of time before the dreaded phrase ‘Blocked in every country’ appears attached to both videos and I’m faced with no option but to remove them. You have been warned!

© The Editor

https://www.epubli.co.uk/shop/buch/48495#beschreibung

12 thoughts on “WORDS OR PICTURES

  1. I’m confused, I thought you said it was satire, but the ‘Doxon of Dick Green’ episode looked more like a documentary or a 2016 training manual to me.
    Would love to see Alison Sauders’ comments.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Will have to come back to Doxon later…. Got half-way through and was so depressed had to go fetch myself a glass of wine. (And no, I’m damn well not letting thoughts of cancer intrude!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I omitted to congratulate you on the brilliant work – satire of that quality deserves a wider channel of display but it appears that the MSM has been effectively neutered these days, leaving it to the relatively narrowcast world here, relying on interested folk seeking it out, rather than having the revelation presented to the masses.

    Like

  4. Great stuff! I liked the fishing expedition with the megaphone and the “written by …”. I wonder if she will be giving a short talk sometime on the ideas behind her show…

    Like

      1. The one who I always half expect to say something very rude in a posh voice, is Liz Dux. She reminds me of Miriam Margolyes.

        Like

  5. I just want you to know, Petunia, that I actually checked on IMDB to see if an ‘Alison Saunders’ really HAD been a writer on DODG (as per end-credits)… I feel a little stupid for doing so, so it’s only a begrudging ‘well done’ from me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

